Whether Pakistan allows dual citizenship with either Canada or the United States; a list of countries which have a dual citizenship agreement with Pakistan [PAK40619.E]

According to the Government of Pakistan's Ministry of Interior Website, Pakistan does not have a dual nationality agreement with the United States; however, it does have one with Canada as well as with the following countries: United Kingdom, France, Italy, Belgium, Iceland, Australia, New Zealand, Egypt, Jordan, Syria, Switzerland and the Netherlands (Pakistan 2002).

This Response was prepared after researching publicly accessible information currently available to the Research Directorate within time constraints. This Response is not, and does not purport to be, conclusive as to the merit of any particular claim to refugee status or asylum.


Pakistan. 2002. Interior Division, Ministry of Interior. "Pakistan Citizenship." http://www.pakistan.gov.pk/interior-division/index.jsp [Accessed 28 Mar. 2003]

Verknüpfte Dokumente