Information on the members of the present cabinet who belong to the Christian faith [NGA15421.E]

A Nigerian professor of government at the University of Texas in Austin identified the following ministers as members of the Christian faith during a telephone Interview with the DIRB (22 Oct. 1993).
Head of Interim National Government Chief Ernest Shonekan
Agriculture and Natural Resources Professor Gerry Gana
Commerce and Tourism Chief Bola Kufonji-Olubi
Education and Youth Development Professor Abraham Imogie
Foreign Affairs Chief Matthew Mbu
Health and Human Services Prince Julius Adelusi-Adeluyi
Industries Chief I.S. Kogbara
Information and Culture Mr. Uche Chumwumerije
Justice Mr. Clement Akpamgbo
Petroleum and Mineral Resources Chief Don Etiebet
Science and Technology Professor Batholomew Nnaji
Works and Housing Mr Barnabas Gemade
Chairman, National Planning Commission Mr. Innocent Nwoga
National Assembly Liaison Officer Dr. S.A.G. Ogbobhodo
National Assembly Liaison Officer Senator George Hommkwan

This response was prepared after researching publicly accessible information currently available to the DIRB within time constraints. This response is not, and does not purport to be, conclusive as to the merit of any particular claim to refugee status or asylum.


Professor of Government, University of Texas, Austin. 22 October 1993. Telephone Interview.


West Africa [London]. 6-12 September 1993. "Nigeria: Picking up the Pieces."