Russia Bans 49 U.K. Citizens, Including Prominent Journalists, From Entering Russia

Russia has banned 49 British journalists and defense figures from entering Russia, saying they have distributed false information about the war in Ukraine or been responsible for arms deliveries to the country.

The 29 journalists blacklisted “are involved in the deliberate dissemination of false and one-sided information" about Russia and the events in Ukraine and Donbas, the Russian Foreign Ministry said in a statement on June 14.

"With their biased assessments, they also contribute to fueling Russophobia in British society," the statement said.

The journalists represent major outlets, including the BBC, Sky News, the Financial Times, the Daily Telegraph, the Independent, and the Guardian. The list includes news anchors, editors, and senior managers.

Another 20 British military officials and figures who Moscow said were linked to the defense industry were also banned from entering Russia. It said they were “involved in making decisions on the supply of weapons to Ukraine.”

The list of people associated with defense includes the British deputy defense secretary, the commander of the Royal Navy, three members of Parliament, and top executives of defense contractors BAE Systems and Thales.

The British government has so far offered more than £750 million ($937 million) in military support to Ukraine, including air-defense systems, thousands of anti-tank missiles, various types of munitions, hundreds of armored vehicles, and other equipment.

Based on reporting by Reuters and AFP